top of page

Lamentillo is Heroes’ Notable Female Government Leader of the Year

February 21, 2023

Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT) Undersecretary Anna Mae Yu Lamentillo is Heroes’ Notable Female Government Leader of the Year.

The recognition was conferred on Lamentillo during the Asia’s Modern Hero Awards 2023 held at Okada Manila on February 17, 2023.

Asia’s Modern Hero Awards honors the heroism and contributions of outstanding individuals in Public Service, Educational Institutions, Disaster Reliefs, Human Development, Civil Society, Health & Environment, Business & Entrepreneurial, Justice and Legal System.

“I thank the members of the Asia’s Modern Hero Awards Council for this award. To be recognized as the Heroes’ Notable Female Government Leader of the Year is heartwarming and humbling, because I am only one of the many public servants, leaders and citizens who have been doing their share for our nation’s growth and development,” said Lamentillo.

“We could not have accomplished much in ‘Build, Build, Build’ if not for the 6.5 million Filipinos who helped us build infrastructure projects to improve mobility and connectivity, and open opportunities for development in the countryside. Now, as we ‘Build Better More’, we will be able to accomplish more also with the support of our kababayans, especially as we transform our country into a truly digital nation,” she added.

Lamentillo is DICT’s Undersecretary for Public Affairs and Foreign Relations, who is in charge of the Department’s strategic communications and media, international relations, and legislative affairs. She is also the Department’s spokesperson and focal person for Presidential and cabinet directives.

Prior to this, she was the chairperson of the Build, Build, Build Committee of the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) and the concurrent chairperson of the Infrastructure Cluster Communications Committee.

The Asia’s Modern Hero Awards 2023 also recognized Metro Pacific Investments Corp. Chairman, President and CEO Manuel V. Pangilinan; Rep. Richard Gomez; Ormoc City Mayor Lucy Torres-Gomez; Rep. Elpidio Barzaga Jr.; Charo Santos-Concio; Karen Davila; The Manila Times President and CEO Dante "Klink" Ang II; The Manila Times Chairman Emeritus Dante A. Ang Sr.; Philippine Economic Zone Authority (PEZA) OIC Director General Tereso Panga; Public Attorney’s Office (PAO) Chief Persida Acosta, among others. 

Next Item
Previous Item
bottom of page